Archive

Archive for the ‘Databases’ Category

Lunchtime training sessions Summer Term 2012

The Library’s lunchtime training sessions for the Summer term have arrived! The sessions are primarily aimed at undergraduates but taught postgraduates may also find them useful. The sessions are delivered in the Central Library, South Kensington campus.

Business students may find the following sessions useful:

EBSCO Business Source Complete: Ebsco provides access to a wealth of business information including company and country reports and full-text journal articles. This session is for business and non-business students who need to find business information for their projects. Monday 18 June 2012 12.00 – 13.00

Google Scholar: Google Scholar is a service which uses the Google search engine, but searches only scholarly resources. This session will cover search tips, what Google Scholar can do for you, and the advantages and disadvantages of using Google Scholar. Thursday 21 June 2012 12.00 – 13.00

Web of Science: This multidisciplinary database covers a wide range of subjects including science, engineering, humanities, medicine and social sciences. It also includes cited references for all articles. Tuesday 29 May 2012 12.00 – 13.00

Academic Writing: Learn techniques for improving your academic writing skills. You will learn how to understand essay questions, look at different academic writing formats and gain some tips to help in those all important exams. Wednesday 6 June 2012 12.00 – 13.00

Current awareness in your subject: This hands-on workshop will show you a number of methods (such as using a Google Reader account) to enable you to keep up to date with new developments in your subject field, including research findings and news items. Monday 28 May 2012 12.00 

Intelligent use of the Internet: Learn which sources on the Internet to trust. We all use the internet but we don’t always know how reliable it is. This session will show you how to decide whether the information you find on the internet is valuable research or just plain rubbish! Wednesday 20 June 2012 12.00 – 13.00

Presentation Skills: Get general advice and tips on preparing a presentation, including how to plan a presentation, and what to do when you are a presenter. Tuesday 19 June 2012 12.00 – 13.00

Reading & Note Taking: Learn techniques for improving your reading and note taking skills. Tuesday 12 June 2012 12.00 – 13.00

 

All sessions are in Training room 1 or 2 on Level 1 of the Central Library unless otherwise stated when you book via the Library website.

DealScan tweets!

As you may know the Library has access to the DealScandatabase (via Loan Connector) which contains historical deal information on the global syndicated loan markets.

They have now set up a Twitter account which will  tweet on breaking news, daily analytics and trends in the syndicated loan market. Follow them on Twitter: @TRLPC.

Thomson One upgraded interface

November 15, 2011 Leave a comment

Please be aware that we have upgraded the interface of Thomson One Banker to Thomson One. The main content and functionality remain largely similar, however, when wishing to conduct a research report search please now use the following steps:

  • In Company Views select Research
  • There is a link at the top right of the screen to Advanced Research Page, click on this link
  • You may now conduct your search using the Company/Industry/Geography/Contributor perameters as before

As always, if you require any assistance using the Library resources, please contact us.

Derwent Innovations Index now available

October 4, 2011 Leave a comment

The Library now provides access to Derwent Innovations Index; this allows patent and citation searches for inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. With this resource you can reduce duplication of R&D; track competitors’ activities; detect and avoid patent infringement; identify potential gaps in the marketplace and possible licensing opportunities.

Level 2 of Central Library open again following works

August 5, 2011 Leave a comment

Level 2 of the Central Library has now reopened. The shelving the shelving and carpet have been replaced.

Book with classmarks 0 to 532, which includes Economis and Finance, are now available to all staff and students.

Please note that the DataStream PCs will be relocated back to Level 2 on Monday 8th August.

Moody’s Default & Recovery Database (DRD) now available

The Library now subscribes to Moody’s Default & Recovery Database (DRD), which provides comprehensive data on defaults, recovery from default, and rating changes (at both the security and issuer level) for all corporate issuers of long-term bonds that have carried a Moody’s rating since 1970.

Access to the database is restricted to two simultaneous users at any one time, you must also be a current student or member of Imperial staff, and be logged into the database by a member of library staff from the Help Desk on Level 1 of the Central Library.

 1-2-1 help and advice on using Moody’s, or any of our other Business resources, is available. To arrange a session contact your librarian.

Library training workshops Summer Term 2011

The Library’s lunchtime training sessions for the Summer term have arrived! The sessions are primarily aimed at undergraduates and are delivered in the Central Library, South Kensington.

Business students may find the following sessions useful:

EBSCO Business Source Complete: Ebsco provides access to a wealth of business information including company and country reports and full-text journal articles. This session is for business and non-business students who need to find business information for their projects. Monday 13 June 2011 12.00 -13.00

Google Scholar: Google Scholar is a service which uses the Google search engine, but searches only scholarly resources. This session will cover search tips, what Google Scholar can do for you, and the advantages and disadvantages of using Google Scholar. Thursday 23 June 2011 12.00 – 13.00

MetaLib: This information portal provides access to databases and electronic journals subscribed to by the Library. Many of the resources can be cross-searched, where a single search is carried out on more than one database. Tuesday 31 May 2011 12.00 – 13.00

PubMed: This is the most comprehensive source for biomedical articles. This session is for students who need to find information in medicine and related subjects. Tuesday 7 June 2011 12.00 -13.00

Web of Science: This multidisciplinary database covers a wide range of subjects including science, engineering, humanities, medicine and social sciences. It also includes cited references for all articles. Tuesday 17 May 2011 12.00 -13.00

Academic Writing: Learn techniques for improving your academic writing skills. You will learn how to understand essay questions, look at different academic writing formats and gain some tips to help in those all important exams. Thursday 26 May 2011 12.00 – 13.00

Current awareness in your subject: This hands-on workshop will show you a number of methods (such as using a Google Reader account) to enable you to keep up to date with new developments in your subject field, including research findings and news items. Monday 16 May 2011 12.00 – 13.00

Intelligent use of the Internet: Learn which sources on the Internet to trust. We all use the internet but we don’t always know how reliable it is. This session will show you how to decide whether the information you find on the internet is valuable research or just plain rubbish! Thursday 9 June 2011 12.00 -13.00

Presentation Skills: Get general advice and tips on preparing a presentation, including how to plan a presentation, and what to do when you are a presenter. Thursday 16 June 2011 12.00 -13.00

Reading & Note Taking: Learn techniques for improving your reading and note taking skills. Thursday 19 May 2011 12.00 -13.00

All sessions are in Training room 1 on Level 1 of the Central Library unless otherwise stated.

To book

Please complete the booking form at: http://www.imperial.ac.uk/library/subjectsandsupport/workshops/lrspbookings to register for any of these sessions.

IBES via WRDS

April 4, 2011 Leave a comment

You can now access IBES via WRDS as well as from Thomson One Banker. More information can be found on our company and financial databases page . IBES contains company estimates.

New Business Databases

January 13, 2011 Leave a comment

The Library now provides access to:

  • Thomson One Banker- A company analysis database containing company overviews, news, prices, financials, filings, research reports, deals and more. It includes IBES estimates and broker and equity research reports from Investext.

 

  • Dealscan – deal information on the global loan markets.

 

For more information go to the company and financial information section of the business library pages.

Datamonitor 360

December 3, 2010 Leave a comment

Business Insights, one of the Library’s market and industry report databases is now called Datamonitor 360.

You can access Datamonitor 360 from our webpage. Access is via IP address recognition. This means you need to be using the Virtual Private Network if off campus to access the database.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.